Event Details

Chamber Series: Bartók and Brahms

Johannes Brahms – String Quartet in C minor, op. 51/1 
Béla Bartók – Sonata for Two Pianos and Percussion, Sz. 110
Johannes Brahms – String Quartet in A minor, op. 51/2 

Click here to download Program Notes for this concert: Brahms and Bartók

Thursday, July 24
7:30 p.m.
Cuesta College Cultural and Performing Arts Center
San Luis Obispo

Scroll down to purchase tickets


Although both Brahms’ op. 51 quartets were published in 1873, each quartet had been revised over two decades. Despite their nearly identical origins, the quartets have distinct characters: op. 51/1 is clearly a continuation of the Beethoven Quartets, while op. 51/2 is an homage to Haydn and Mozart. The Bartók Sonata for Two Pianos and Percussion was the last piece of music Bartók performed in public, and one of the most important chamber works of the 20th century. $29-$55


Performers for this event are:

Steven Copes, Aurelia Duca, Erin Schreiber, Scott Yoo, violin

Katie Kadarauch, Ben Ullery, viola

Michelle Djokic, Madelein Kabat, cello

Susan Grace, John Novacek, piano

Scott Higgins, Shannon Wood, percussion

Generously sponsored by Jim and Deborah Whitson



Posted in Summer Festival 2014 |

Comments are closed.

Cuesta College

Summer Festival

International Artists. Spectacular Venues.
July 17-27, 2014.


Festival Mozaic Celebrates
Music Year-round.

Sign Up

to Get Festival Updates
Sign Up Now